What’s in My Makeup Bag?

Happy 2014!

I’ve had a lot of girlfriends ask me what makeup I use in the past couple of months, so I decided to share what’s in my makeup bag!

Base makeup

My base makeup, from left to right:

  • Esprique Brightening Up Makeup Base
  • Yves Saint Laurent Touche Eclat Radiant Touch #2
  • Esprique  Beautiful Skin UV Powder Foundation in PO-205

I’m very happy with all of my base products and don’t foresee any major changes in the future. I especially love the Esprique Brightening Up Base – even though it’s white it doesn’t turn me into a ghost. It goes on sheer and illuminates my entire face, giving me a healthy glow.

Eye makeup

  • Shu Uemura eyelash curler
  • Majolica Majolica eye shadow BE 121
  • Shu Uemura eye shadow – I don’t know what colors they are but I only use brown – the violet was a sample.
  • Little Witch Mote Make Mascara, moisture long
  • Lancôme eye liner in black coffee
  • Shu Uemura eyebrow pencil #9

I was a MAC addict until moving to Japan, where everything costs twice as much as in the U.S. Shu Uemura products seem to be taking the place of MAC in my fickle little heart.

I’ve been using the Shu eyelash curler since I was 18 – love it.

Their eyebrow pencil works well for me too, as they’re one of the few relatively affordable department store cosmetics companies that makes brown – NOT auburn – eyebrow pencils. Definitely recommend visiting if you have light colored hair.

Not so satisfied with my mascara or Majolica eye shadow – will probably look for something new when they run out.

Blush

  • Chanel powder blush 67 Rose Tourbillon

I’m not a big Chanel person but I love, love, love Chanel blush. It’s highly pigmented but easy to control so you don’t end up looking like you stuck your face in the  blush pan, hoping for the best.

A lot of my makeup is department store but I almost NEVER buy at full price. I tend to stock up whenever I leave Japan to see my family or go on a business trip. Depending upon where you buy and what brand you buy, the savings can be huge. But be warned: Shu Uemura products are no longer available in North America, so it’s best to stop at the duty free shops in Japan before your departure.

If you have any questions about where to buy makeup in Japan, etc. please leave a comment!

3 thoughts on “What’s in My Makeup Bag?

  1. Great blog if you have the time could you check out a few of mine 😊 also if there’s anything you’d like me to write about just ask !x

  2. Try the Fiberwig range, the fibers are pretty lengthening but thin enough so it still looks natural 🙂

    • Dear R, thanks for the suggestion! I’ve tried Fiberwig a few times in the past but it didn’t work as well for me as I would have liked. Hopefully I’ll find the perfect mascara for me one of these days ;P

Leave a comment